How do I rank in getting my life in order . . .

Posted: November 24, 2010 in Indulgent Commentary
Tags: , , ,

 I was reading this article and thought I would share it with you and how well it is working for me.  The original post is 50 Ways to Get Your Life in Order written by  Mark Foo on his blog called Litemind: Exploring ways to use our minds efficiently.  It has some very practical advice.

Foo says, “Keep in mind the following 50 tips and you’ll be able to streamline your life and get back on track in the New Year.”  Let see how that is going for me.  See my comments below:

PART 1:  (1-10)

1.  Recycle old papers that are filling drawers in your house. If you’re anything like me, you have drawers overflowing with old receipts, junk mail, records, and notes to myself. Get rid of all of this. Invest in a paper shredder to reduce clutter and maintain privacy. 

If I could do this I wouldn’t have to get my life in order.  This is one of the number one issues in my cluttered life.  Mail, how I hate mail.  People need to go green and quit sending me all this mail.  And why all the flyers?  Flyers in the mail. Flyers on my door knob.  Flyers on my doorstep.  I think companies that advertise using paper need to pay a paper usage tax.  Perhaps that would entice them to go green.

2.  Mentally prepare yourself for change by visualizing your ideal self. Who do you admire the most? How do you envision yourself in the future? Who do you want to be? Visualize yourself to be that person.

My ideal self?  I have been searching for that for years.  As I got older, I let go of the whole “ideal self” strategy, and instead just focussed on survival.  For me it is less stressful that way.

3.  Realize that unexpected events can be a good thing. As the Dalai Lama once said, “Remember that not getting what you want is sometimes a wonderful stroke of luck.”

Wow, I must be one lucky person, because I am always facing unexpected events, but I normally call it bad luck.

4.  Ask people you admire how they got where they are today. I’ve always admired my grandfather. Learning more about how he started up his business, dealt with difficulty throughout his life, and maintained grace throughout it all has helped me in my personal endeavors. 

Admiration is not what it is cracked up to be.  I have had too many disappointments in my life with those “admirable people.”  Cynical.  Yes.

5.  Cut back on alcohol, cigarettes and other vices. These can be crutches that cloud judgment. The money saved by not purchasing or cutting back on this type of material can then be put into something rewarding such as a vacation.

I quit smoking over 12 years ago.  Once vice gone.  Alcohol, not an issue.  I may have a drink once every 3 or 4 months.  I learned this lesson when I was in college.  Other vices… it depends what you call a vice.  To one person’s vice could be another person’s motivation.  It is all how you look at it.

6.  Remove elements of negativity from your life, be they people or a job you don’t want to do. If you have friends who are bringing you down, there’s no need to keep hanging out with them out of obligation. Cut your ties and cut your losses.

Took care of the friends a long time ago.  Life is easier without friends, especially if their standing as a friend is questionable.  Regarding at work, it is a strong rule of mine to not have “friends” at work.  Jobs and fellow workers come and go.  I have a job to get a pay check, not to socialize for the fun of it.  Plus I see those people every day.  Why would I bring them into my life using the meager free time I have left?

 7.  Start each day with a clear to-do list along with your cup of morning coffee. Knowing what you need to do in the day ahead helps keep you on track.

If I had to update my list with everything I didn’t accomplish yesterday I wouldn’t get much done for the day.  Plus I like my morning coffee.  Why ruin it with a to-do list.

8.  Clean your house from top to bottom and throw away anything outdated. Not only receipts, as mentioned above, but any old junk that should be donated to charity or sold in a garage sale.  

Once again if I could do this I wouldn’t be reading this article.  Sometimes the task is overwhelming, which is just another stress in my life that I don’t need.  I shouldn’t say I never do this.  Every five years or so, we move, which is a fast way of cleaning the house and during that endeavor you are highly motivated to not take all of this stuff with you.

9.  Institute a clear filing system for your personal records. Investing in a simple filing cabinet and folders with labels is something you don’t need a personal secretary for and makes your life much easier when you are looking for a specific item.

I find this funny.  It is obvious I am not good at organizing stuff.  But I do know what is in this nook and in that cranny.  I think I would be better off with the assistant.  Part of my problem is I am not the only person in my household.  I have two other contributors.  My son and my husband.  They need to do their part too.  I have tried organizing everyone’s stuff.  I have used cute little containers with labels indicating what belongs in them.  I have always told my son, everything has a home.  You just have to make sure you put the stuff in the home.  Did it help?  No.

10.  Do your grocery shopping for the week on the day it’s most convenient. Make a list, budget, and get only what you need to save time and money.

Excuse me I am laughing out loud.  Most convenient?  I hate grocery shopping.  I don’t do it during the week because I am so tired from work and the commute.  If you grocery shop on the weekend you are asking for chaos.  I do live by a list; I am getting too old to remember everything and  a list is necessary.  I would love to have enough money in my budget to get only what I needed.  Such is not the case in my house.

To be continued . . .

Note to Mark Foo:  “Common sense and a sense of humor are the same thing, moving at different speeds.  A sense of humor is just common sense, dancing.” –  William James

Comments are closed.