How do I rank in getting my life in order . . .

Posted: November 29, 2010 in Indulgent Commentary
Tags: , , , ,

Continued from:   https://snowflakesofwinter.wordpress.com/2010/11/24/how-do-i-rank-in-getting-my-life-in-order/

This is an evaluation how well I rank with the list on a post called  50 Ways to Get Your Life in Order written by Mark Foo in his blog called Litemind: Exploring ways to use our minds efficiently.  See my comments below:

PART 2:  (11-20)

11.  Take a career test that will help you identify your strengths. If you are unhappy with your career but don’t even know where to begin in the process of moving on, this can be a good way to identify strengths and new possibilities. 

I have been working for over 36 years.  I don’t think it is time for a career change.  I am too old and couldn’t change careers if I wanted to, especially without losing some earnings.  Plus after 36 years and having a successful career, you already know what your strengths and weaknesses are.  How do you think I survived this long?

12.  Meet with a professional counselor if there are issues you need to discuss. Many people are struggling with dead weight from the past or emotional baggage that is holding them back. Deal with them and move on with professional assistance. 

I must say this is the funniest thing I have seen in this list so far.  In my life I have seen at least 9 “professional counselors.”  Believe me, I don’t need a counselor to help me identify the “dead weight from the past.”  It is very clear to me.  The hard part is  dealing with it and moving on.  I have yet met a counselor who can tell me how to do this.  Typically the session goes like this…. I say, “It was a horrible thing and I wish I could just let it go.”  The counselor says, “So how do you think you could do this?”  You have got to be kidding.  Why am I paying a counselor to ask me to come up with my own solutions.  I really don’t need a middle man. 

13.  Work out a clear exercise plan with an activity that you enjoy such as dancing or biking. My girlfriend loves yoga, and I am a soccer enthusiast. As long as it’s active, it counts. 

Wow this one has me rolling on the floor.  Oh, I wonder if that counts as “active.”  Once again there is this planning thing.  I can plan until the cows come home.  It is putting it into action is the hard thing.

I have actually implemented this suggestion.  Over the summer I started a walking program and it has been a great experience.  I can’t believe I am going to say this but I have more energy when I get some exercise.

Now there is snow on the ground and I am not sure if I can continue the program.  I need to transition to indoor waking, either on my treadmill or walking at my job.  I work in a six floor building which is actually three buildings chained together.  We will see how this goes.  It is not the same as walking outside with our dog. 

14.  Set appointments you’ve been putting off. It’s easy to put off going to the doctor or dentist until we are sick, but preventive care is extremely important in overall health levels. 

Preventive care takes money!  If I could afford it and had the time, don’t you think I would be doing this?  Plus I am not sure this is all what it is cracked up to be.  I think this is another plot by the health industry.  Annual physical.  Dentist every 6 months.  Pap test every year.  Eye exam every year.  Breast exam every year.  Colonoscopy, you have got to be kidding.  Sounds to me like an industry with a guaranteed revenue. 

I don’t think if you had all of the money and time in the world that these appointments and exams would guarantee you a life with no health issues.  Sometimes you need to use some common sense about this.  I know there are a lot of people right now with pink ribbons in their hands that are gasping in outrage. I am not stupid.  If there is breast cancer in your family, it probably is a good idea to get a mammogram.  This is probably true for any disease that has heredity type characteristics.

Earlier this year during a physical, my doctor was caught off guard when I refused to take the “routine” tests he wanted to conduct.  As he kept reciting the lists of tests he wanted to do, I kept saying no, no, no.  Finally he asked me why I was so reluctant to do these tests.  I looked at him and said.  “Do you really want to know ? [dramatic pause]  The medical industry has not done a very good job with my family, and you are tied to this industry.  I am not sure if I like you so much.”  Rude?  Stubborn?  Probably.  But it is what it is.  And he got the message loud and clear.

15.  Go through cabinets and throw out expired medications or food items. The last time I did this, I found everything from 3-year-old curry powder to 5-year-old aspirin. Throw them out.

Now this is when that assistant would come in handy, but I am afraid if I threw out everything that was “expired,” I wouldn’t have anything left in the cupboard or the medicine cabinet.  Don’t you know that expiration dates are a plot to make you buy more product?  The manufacturer is counting on you not using up the whole product, and the best way to make you buy more is to slap an expiration date on it.  Kidding.  Or am I?  I love conspiracy theories.

16.  Make a clear diet plan with an emphasis on whole grains, fruits and vegetables. A healthy diet plan has a tremendous effect on your overall energy levels. 

This is trickier than it sounds.  I can make a clear diet plan full  of grains, fruits and vegetable.  I think most people can tell you what is good for you to eat and what is not good for you to eat.  The hard part is transforming the “plan” into reality.  That is really what I need advice on.

I will admit, along with added exercise, I started a diet program.  I had a wake up call this summer when I was diagnosed with type 2 diabetes.  I shifted my diet toward healthier choices.  So far I have lost 30 pounds.

17.  Add vitamin pills to your daily diet. Vitamin supplements can help reduce the possibility of cancer and osteoporosis, among other disorders. 

If I am not currently eating right, do you really think I am going to take vitamin supplements?  Not.

18.  Take up a mental exercise. Crossword puzzles, Sudoku, or other word games along these lines are more than just a good way to pass time. They have been shown in studies to help improve overall mental capabilities. 

Another waste of time.  I have a family that has needs.  I have a full-time job.  I have a child who needs to be taken care of and needs to be educated.  I sure as hell am not going to use my precious free time moments doing Sudoku. 

Any way, my job keeps me keen.  Employers these days want more from their employees.  We have to daily think creatively how to get the job done in a shorter time frame and with less money.  If not, you are out of a job.  Someone in Bangalore will be doing it instead.  I think that is enough mental exercise for me.

19.  Publish your own book. This is easier than ever before with Internet publishing. You can get your ideas out there and start making money from them. I’ve published my own eBook, The 77 Traits of Highly Successful People, check it out. 

Here comes that spare time issue again.  Believe it or not, since I was a young girl I wanted to be an author.  That is why I went to college and studied literature.  But there came a day when I woke up and faced reality.  I needed a job that provided me with money, and that was more important than doing what I wanted to do. Yes I sold my soul to the big rat race of life. 

But, who knows, it may happen yet.  I think this is one item I will consider as good advice.  Four thumbs up for me.

20.  Make a reading list and join a book club. Most people state that they want to read more, but without an actual plan you may not make the time to do this. Joining a book club not only serves as a social activity but also keeps you up to date with your own reading list. 

Here is another one that takes up time that I really don’t have.  Take a look at my comments on item 18 and 19.  The same is true here.  I used to love to read.  I used to own hundreds of books.  Used to.  Then motherhood came and other things became a priority.  This is one more thing I would like to do.  I really don’t know what my problem is with reading.  Last year I even bought a Kindle.  I have downloaded many books that I want to read.  I have had the best intention, but I don’t think I have read four books since I bought it.  I may try to work on this.

To be continued . . .

Note to Mark Foo:  “I think the next best thing to solving a problem is finding some humor in it.” Frank A. Clark

 

Comments
  1. perfect log you’ve secure

  2. Strange this post is totaly unrelated to what I was searching google for, but it was listed on the first page. I guess your doing something right if Google likes you enough to put you on the first page of a non related search. 🙂

  3. I’m really Glad i came across this site.Added nemitzc.wordpress.com to my bookmark!

  4. jocuri jetix says:

    You got some great ideas there. I did a search on the issue and learnt most peoples will agree with your blog. If you are an experienced traveler, you may know the ins and outs of travel to all parts of the world, and you may have very specific ideas about what you want to see and where you want to go.

  5. Chan Hickman says:

    I really enjoyed your article and would like to know if I provide a link back to your site if I can use your article on one of my sites?

  6. You made a few good points there. I did a search on the subject and found a good number of people will go along with with your blog.

  7. 監視器 says:

    Great piece of data that you’ve received on this web site submit. Hope I might get some additional of the stuff on your own website. I will occur again.