How do I rank in getting my life in order . . .

Posted: December 10, 2010 in Indulgent Commentary
Tags:

Continued from:   https://snowflakesofwinter.wordpress.com/2010/12/03/how-do-i-rank-in-getting-my-life-in-order-3/

This is an evaluation how well I rank with the list on a post called  50 Ways to Get Your Life in Order written by Mark Foo in his blog called Litemind: Exploring ways to use our minds efficiently.  See my comments below:

PART 4:  (31-40) 

31. Take more naps. Sleep is often sadly underrated in its ability to boost energy, mood, and keep reaction times sharp.

I think this is a great idea. I feel so tired. Naps would be good. The trick is getting an opportunity to take a nap. Most of my life I did not take naps, but when I had my son it gave me an opportunity to take a nap with him. Now he is older and I don’t have that excuse. Then again I am also older. Maybe that is my new excuse. I am old and I need to rest. Love it.

32. Drink at least 6 cups of water per day. Staying hydrated helps keep energy levels up.

Boy has Mark been talking to my doctor? I must say I did cut out pop quite some time ago. Since then I have less retention of fluids. My joints hurt less. I have also found that nothing quenches one’s thirst than a cold glass of water. Even though I am drinking water, I am definitely not drinking six cups.

33.  Organize your photo collection. Get both digital files and physical printouts in albums. If you’re anything like my family, your photographs could be sadly sitting tucked away in shoeboxes in the closet, taking up space.

Albums?  Who uses these any more?  Everything is digital and there is no need to print pictures.  Also, whether they are in an album or in a shoe box they will still take up space.

34.  Take an interest in art in your community. Visiting galleries can help introduce you to the artists in your community and help stimulate thinking.

I would love to do this.  Once again it comes to time.  No excuses.  When I have time it does not occur to me to go to an art gallery.  I do look at photography exhibits on the internet..  I wonder if this is consider a gallery.

35.  Join a hobbyist club. My friend decided to learn more about building model airplanes and was so deeply into it that he recently obtained his commercial pilot’s license. You never know where a simple hobby can lead you in life. 

Joining a hobbyist club is too formal.  Why do I need a club?  I have the internet.  The thing I like about the internet is you can find information about any subject including hobby-like things.  Plus you can meet people on the internet.  I have made connections with people from all over the world.  The nice thing is if you don’t want to be bothered by an internet acquaintance, you just ignore them, or unlike them, or block them.  Internet acquaintance over.

36.  Keep a calendar with commitments. Having a visual reminder in front of you can be extremely helpful. We are all different types of learners.

I need all the reminders I can get.  I am not sure if this is an age thing or just a too busy, cluttered life thing.  Between work, my son’s school, my son’s doctor appointments, my doctor appointments, and my husbands schedule, it is rare to not have  at least one special event each week of the calendar.  

Here’s a tip.  I like Outlook for managing my time.  The good thing about it is you can set alerts.  And for my personal events, I put a twenty-four hour alert on the event.  That way I know about it a day ahead of the time, and I can properly plan for it. I also put my personal events on my work’s outlook.  Since I am in Outlook every day for my job, it is the best place to alert me.

37.  Don’t put off difficult conversations. Deal with problems directly and immediately. This will result in a much lower level of anxiety for all involved.

This is easier said than done.  If I could only do better on number twelve, it would help me with this item.  But there are some things that are best left unsaid.  Dealing with the repercussions may be worse than the anxiety of not having the discussion. 

If only all my interactions could be done via the internet.  It would be so easy to have these discussions because you don’t see the person and don’t see the reaction.  It is much more impersonal, but serves the same purpose.  The discussion just happens.  And typically there are not immediate reactions.  It give a person time to cool down, or to put their thoughts in order.  I am starting to sound like I really do this.  Not.  At least not yet.

38.  Make a list of priorities and do what makes you happy. If you have lost touch with your own priorities lately, it can be beneficial to take the time to sit and think about what actually makes you happy. Work toward achieving this as much as possible.

This is a tough one for me.  I have so many priorities I need to juggle.  And I am not sure what does priorities have to do with happiness.  Some priorities can be bad.  I realize knowing your priorities is important.  I always say I am in survival mode, and priorities right are critical.  Thus survival accomplished.  I am starting to sound like McTeague.

39.  Spend more time outdoors. Nature has an ability to help soothe a troubled mind and clear your thoughts. Taking a walk in the woods or climbing a mountain, at any level of difficulty, gives a sense of pride and accomplishment.

This is the best suggestion yet.  I love observing nature.  That is why I like to fish.  It doesn’t matter if I catch a fish.  It is just nice and peaceful sitting my a river fishing.  It is best in the early morning.  There is a chill in the air, and the wild life are just waking up.  This is one of my favorite past times. I also like to walk either early in the morning or later in the evening.  It gives me time to wind down.

40.  Attend lectures. These could be science lectures or other types, but it’s helpful to keep up-to-date on what’s going on in the world and plan accordingly. Keeping the mind active helps you in all aspects of your daily life.

Lectures?  Once again I have the internet.  I can read about any topic.  I can join a forum to discuss a topic.  And I don’t have to deal with other people.  Perfect.

to be continued . . .

Note to Mark Foo:  “Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It’s the transition that’s troublesome.”  – Isaac Asimov

Comments are closed.